Impact Assessment Agence d'évaluation d'impact du Canada

160 Elgin St., 22nd floor Ottawa ON K1A 0H3

160, rue Elgin, 22e étage Ottawa ON K1A 0H3

December 5, 2022

Elk Valley Métis Nation Foothills Ojibway First Nation Kainai Nation (Blood Tribe) Métis Nation of Alberta: Provincial Office, Region 3, Locals #87 and 1880 Nakcowinewak Nation of Canada O'Chiese First Nation Piikani Nation Samson Cree Nation Siksika Nation Stoney Nakoda Nations: Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation Tsuut'ina Nation

Dear Regional Assessment requestors,

The Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (the Agency) acknowledges receipt of your request for a regional assessment in the Southwestern Alberta Foothills, submitted to the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada, on Nov. 29, 2022. Your request will be posted on the Canadian Impact Assessment Registry Internet site (the Registry) later this week.

The Agency is reviewing your request and will provide advice to the Minister to inform his decision on whether or not to conduct this potential regional assessment. We anticipate that the Minister's decision, with reasons, will be provided to you and posted to the Registry by February 27, 2023.

Further questions regarding your request and its analysis can be directed to myself, by email at Stephen.Bonnell@iaac-aeic.gc.ca or by telephone at (709) 682-4912 or to Colter Kelly, Project Manager - Strategic and Regional Assessments, by email at Colter.Kelly@iaac-aeic.gc.ca or by telephone at (343) 550-3864.

Thank you and best regards,

Steve Bonnell Director, Strategic and Regional Assessments





C.C.:

Elk Valley Métis Nation:

Jean Sulzer, President, < Email address removed>

Foothills Ojibway First Nation:

Chief Jim O'Chiese, <Email address removed>

Kathleen ida Kiss, Administrative Coordinator, <Email address removed>

Kainai Nation (Blood Tribe):

Mike Oka, Consultation Coordinator, <Email address removed>

Métis Nation of Alberta Provincial Office:

Theo Peters, Consultation Team Lead, <Email address removed>

Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3:

Lawrence Gervais, President, <Email address removed>

Métis Nation of Alberta Locals 87 and 1880:

Peter McPherson, President, Local 87 and Representative, Local 1880,

<Email address removed>

Nakcowinewak Nation of Canada:

Jean Whitehorse, President, <Email address removed>

William Turner, Authorized Representative, <Email address removed>

O'Chiese First Nation:

Andrew Scott, Consultation Coordinator, <Email address removed>

Piikani Nation:

Ira Provost, Manager, Piikani Nation Consultation,

<Email address removed>

Samson Cree Nation:

Laurie Buffalo, Council Member, <Email address removed>

Kaylyn Buffalo, Consultation Project Officer,

<Email address removed>

Siksika Nation:

Cedric Solway, Consultation Coordinator, <Email address removed>

Stoney Nakoda Nations: Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation:

William (Bill) Snow, Director of Consultation, <Email address removed>

Tsuut'ina Nation:

Violet M. Mequinis, Consultation Director, <Email address removed>

Canada Energy Regulator:

Gitane De Silva, Chief Executive Officer, < Email address removed>

Paula Futoransky, Vice President, Energy Adjudication,

<Email address removed>

Carly Milne, Crown Consultation Director, <Email address removed>